John McEnroe: Rafael Nadal is the best ever, even with a first-round Wimbledon loss

Yes, I’m still devastated as f*ck. Rafa’s unprecedented first round loss last day in Wimbledon put tears in my face, no, the journeyman Steve Darcis was honestly the one who broke my poor heart. It is sad to see Rafa get knocked out by players sitting outside ATP’s top 100. Rosol last year then Darcis this year. I don’t want another dejavu in 2014, Rafa pretty please? But for one, I still want you to win in Wimbledon to silence them haters. Anyways, I’m done with Wimbledon. I know I have to suck it up but at least I don’t need to stay up late again and frazzle over Rafa’s campaign on grass and will have much time to finally read the football books I bought some tad weeks ago. 🙂

Anywaaaaays number two, thank you so much Mr. J-Mac for sticking with your words and for letting me feel again how much Rafa means the world to me. I don’t care about his knee problems anymore. Tennis is so much more about confidence than we even realize and talent matters over all. His amazing power, talent, confidence after a 7-month layoff from injuries and his adorable humility are pretty much what it is. The numbing reality will always be there but if you would only focus on those things about him, the shocking losses will do no more than that and as Rafa reminds us: “At the end, is not a tragedy. Is sport.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

