Invincible Nadal

Image“Maybe this win is even more special given where I have come back from. Playing in Madrid is always very exciting for me and the tournament couldn’t have worked out better.” ~ Rafael Nadal

Image

“Since we started playing on clay in Europe, I’ve realised that my drive is working again at its high level. I’m able to open the angles and play a lot of winning points. I couldn’t do that in Barcelona or Monte Carlo; over here I could… It’s true these last matches I have been able to reach that place where I want to be playing, the kind of play that I’m aiming for.” ~ Rafael Nadal

“I think he started really well. Even if I’m playing my best tennis and [am] completely fresh, it’s really, really tough to beat him. It was tough for me. The ball was flying. I didn’t find out a way how to play my game [and] how to be aggressive on the court. He was also dictating the points. [Nadal’s] a lefty and puts so much topspin on his forehand, so I have to [play my] backhand always high. So I need to have the perfect timing to play a strong shot. You could see today [that] if I don’t have the legs to get there, I have no chance to come back in the point. So many times [today] he hit one [or] two forehands to my backhand and I could come back.” ~ Stanislas Wawrinka

Image

“I’m very happy for everything that has happened. Forty titles on clay are far more than what I’ve ever dreamed of [winning]. I will just enjoy them and continue working on the same level to try to be better and to try to be at a really good level for what will come in the future.” ~ Rafael Nadal

Photos by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

